web2.0 and more

This unit on digital publishing platforms has made me think about how I do and should use my blogs, facebook, twitter accounts.  They each have different audiences and different purposes for online publishing.  I follow a range of blogs, friends on facebook, and twitter to keep up to date with new thoughts and ideas for professional learning.  I am less likely to use these for personal connections with family and friends.

I find that Twitter is short and immediate, often providing a link to a blog post, short comments on conferences attending with the use of  a relevant hash tags. I tend to follow these if I can not attend a conference, so that I get a feel for the guest speakers and the discussion.  Facebook is great for quick scan of what people are doing, reading, sharing with others.  Blog posts can be lengthy and with the archive can be a record over a period of time of discussions, reflections, sharing on a range of topics of interest.  I have a few that I regularly follow and others that I read if  the topic is of interest and has been suggested, or recommended by someone on twitter or facebook.  It has been suggested that I should use my blog more to share my thoughts and ideas on  topics but I find that after working all day, I need some down time, not more time at the computer and online.

As my project is more family history orientated, and the people that I would be sharing my final document with are not generally on social media, I may mention it on my personal facebook page but not necessarily my work page; and am unlikely to tweet it.  This probably reflects my views on privacy and what I share online, who to and how.  This unit has in many ways reinforced my thoughts on the need to keep separate personal and professional  communications.   I don’t necessarily need to know what others have cooked for tea, what their dog/cat/ etc did. But I do like to hear about what new books they have read, or how they have modified their research program with year 7 or VCE, new ideas in how to use various technology tools and software, etc.

Comments on: "Reflection on digital publishing" (1)

  1. Once again Faye, you’ve demonstrated a deep understanding of digital fluency. Understanding that different channels have a different audiences and/or purpose and that we all make decisions about what we share when and with whom (often without thinking) is an important part of getting the most out of your media.
    And they really are your media which is exciting and empowering. You’ve done a great job of looking at the nature of the project you’ve chosen and where and how would be the best way to share your work.
    I really appreciate your working through this course in the way you have Faye, given it’s designed for beginners and also you’ve done our courses before.
    Thanks for your thoughtful contributions to the group.
    Linda

Leave a comment