web2.0 and more

Project: next steps

Having changed my proposed project early in Module 2 when we had to undertake searches using possible terms (see post for 3 May),  I have been searching on George Debney, Flemington tanneries and Buntingford Tannery. I have followed up some of the documents listed in search results.  I have saved these to a separate page in Evernote with annotations and bookmarked some in Diigo.

Going through a folder of notes and photos that my mother had on her grandfather has helped me to rethink what information I already have and what I still need to find.

Eventually I would like write a document to share with family members and others about George Debney, his family and the Buntingford Tannery at Flemington.  However for this program I would be happy to have made a start with using Google and other search engines, various libraries online, especially SLV, PROV, and Trove’s digitised newspapers.  and collating any information  found using Evernote and Diigo.  In the longer term I will need to find out what information local historical societies may have, and what documents extended family members may have.

 

Comments on: "Project: next steps" (2)

  1. Catherine Hainstock said:

    Hi Faye,
    It sounds as if you are well-organised and have thought through your next steps. I think for yo

    As you edge closer to writing about your findings can I recommend a couple of sites that I found very helpful. I bumped up against some historical thinking issues as I researched and wrote. If your method was History you probably are well aware of all this – my training was not in history – so I found these helpful and fascinating.
    http://historicalthinking.ca/
    http://historicalthinkingmatters.org/why/
    Good luck and enjoy the hunt! Will you be making your final project available to read? If so, do drop a line. I’d love to see how it all goes.
    All the best,
    Catherine (for the team)

    • Thanks for the tips and websites about historical thinking.
      Will let you know about making final project available for reading.

Leave a comment